CA Canada
  1. UK United Kingdom

Case Studies

Heidi HerbstHeidi Herbst

So Heidi, introduce yourself: Sure! My name is Heidi Herbst and I am a Project Buyer/Expeditor for IMV Projects here in Calgary.

What did you take in school? I am currently completing my Bachelor’s degree in International Business and Supply Chain Management from Mount Royal College while working full time.

What path did you follow when you finished school? I started working in my capacity prior to attending school. I really enjoyed the work and decided to pursue my degree in supply chain management and I went from working a summer job to part-time work and then eventually full-time.

What led you to a career in Project Buying? I spent a summer working at IMV Projects as an Expeditor and it progressed into a buying opportunity to further my experience in procurement. My degree compliments my job as a Project Buyer/Expeditor for the company.

What is involved in your day to day job? My job is split into two types of tasks- Project Buyer and Expeditor. As a Buyer, I am given material requirements from engineering in which I then prepare request for quote and purchase orders. As an expeditor, I am responsible for ensuring all equipment that has been purchased is delivered to the right place, at the right time, in the right quantity.

What do you like about working at IMV Projects? I enjoy the pace of work and the interesting variety of projects.  I find IMV Projects is a great place to work because the people are good team players and the physical work environment is safe and comfortable. The type of work I do is very interesting and the variety of projects that IMV Projects works on is very dynamic, so there isn’t a project that is the same. My job changes from day to day.  I have opportunities to do small and large projects and tackle new issues that arise almost daily.

What advice would you give to someone considering a career as a Project Buyer and Expeditor? I highly recommend having a background in supply chain and having an understanding of how the process works of buying and shipping materials needed for each project.

What do you do in your spare time? i.e. hobbies and extracurricular interests? There is an opportunity to participate in sports activities here. I play on the soccer team. It’s a great way to get to know your fellow employees outside of a work environment. On my own, I love to stay active by going to the gym and playing tennis.

If you weren’t doing the job you do now, what do you like to be doing? I would probably be a buyer for my own company!